Users of TeamServer, depending on either their organization or application role have the ability to manage applications. Certain functions can be found either inline or in the Action Bar. Operations found in the Action Bar can be performed in bulk.
Archiving is an operation that maintains the integrity of application data such as Traces and Libraries, but essentially turns the application to an "Off" status.
Applications that should no longer collect traces, yet are wanted for historical purposes, can be archived. When an application is archived, the agent will be informed of the application status. It will no longer send traces to TeamServer. Applications that are archived will also improve the overall portfolio score, as they will not count against the total score.
When an application is archived, a small grey box will reside to the right of the application name. By default, these applications will not show up in the Applications search page. By checkmarking the Show Archived option, users will be able to view and interact with an archived application.
Archiving an application does not free up a license within TeamServer. The only way to return a license back to the pool of available licenses is to archive and reset an application, then perform a full delete option to the application (see below).
Once an application is archived, a user with an Administator role may choose to restore the application. Restoring an application is the inverse of archiving an application. The application becomes visible by default. All vulnerabilities and issues immediately impact the portfolio score.
If an application has been reset and all of the data is purged, there is no concept of restoring purged data. In this case the data is completely lost.
Customers will often reset applications for the purpose of clearing all history and findings associated with a given application. Resetting doesn't remove the application, but rather purges all of the data associated with it.
Applications cannot be fully deleted unless they are archived first. The application is not required to be reset as the deletion process will truncate any associated data; however, it is recommended as a best practice that the data be reviewed and ideally, reset, prior to a full delete. For a full guide to deleting applications, see Deleting An Application
Grouping is very different from merging applications. Grouping is a simple way to tag or label one or more applications for search purposes. There are no other advantages in TeamServer for grouping other than using the Group attribute to improve search functionality.
Merging two or more applications into a single application is a common operation performed by organization administrators responsible for bringing applications online. The main purpose of merging is to present a single application view in terms of scoring, discovered vulnerabilities and remediation purposes. Applications can be made up of components, which may show up individually in the application list. Merging allows you to logically organize all of an application's components into one entity within Contrast.
In order to merge an application, the user must be an Organization Administrator and follow these steps:
Now that your applications are merged, you will see the Master Application accompanied by an icon. You can always see the application modules represented by clicking this icon or choosing "Show child applications" from the Advanced filter options. To quickly get to any merged applications, there is a predefined Merged filter available from the search bar.
Once applications are merged, there may be a time when they need to be separated from the Master Application. There are a couple of ways to unmerge either all, or specific application modules.
From the Applications page, there will be an Unmerge action in the row menu of any master application. By default, this will unmerge all application modules represented; however, there will also be an option to specifically define what gets unmerged.
From the Application Modules dialog, there will be a corresponding checkbox for each application module. Selecting one, many, or all will present the option to Unmerge Selected applications. This dialog can be accessed by clicking the master application icon from either the Applications page or the Master Application Details page.
At times it may be necessary to fully delete an application, as opposed to simply archiving it. The primary reason for doing so is to return the application's enterprise license back into the license pool, making it available for use by other applications. It also removes findings associated with the application (like vulnerabilities and libraries) that are no longer needed or wanted.
From the Applications page, navigate to the application you would like to delete.
From the Application Overview page, verify that no agents are reporting to the application. If so, find the list of servers that are reporting and manually disable them.
It is considered best practice to reset the application to make sure all associated vulnerabilities, URL’s, and components are properly cleared. Do this by clicking the Application Settings (gear) icon in the top right of the Application Overview page.
At the bottom of the dialog that follows, select Reset Application.
Note: You may also reset from the Applications page by selecting one or more applications and clicking the Reset batch action button.
Return to the Application Settings dialog and select Archive Application.
Once archived, your application will only be visable in the Applications page by checking the Show Archive filter in Advanced Settings.
Archived applications can be viewed in the list, but are restricted to findings such as vulnerabilities or libraries unless unarchived. You can restore (unarchive) the application by selecting it and choosing Unarchive in either the row menu or batch action button.
Note: You may also archive from the Applications page by selecting one or more applications and clicking the Archive batch action button.
Deleting an application means all of its associated findings (vulnerabilities and libraries) will be permanently removed. From the archived application's row menu, click Fully Delete.
Note: The application must be archived for this option to appear.
Deleting an application improperly can result in leftover agents that continue to report findings, in which case the application will get recreated and continue to consume the license. Users should make sure to disable any agents reporting on behalf of the application.